ensemble recherche

The members of the ensemble recherchehave been dedicated to the new and unknown since 1985. The Freiburg-based ensemble has shaped contemporary music and written musical history during this period of more than three decades – with in excess of 600 premiers and more than 50 CD recordings. The eight musicians, all internationally known soloists in the field of contemporary music, combine immense pleasure in experimentation with enthusiasm for intensive consideration of the present time. The eight soloists place their enormous musicality and their individual personalities at the service of the collective so that they can research the musical present together, as an ensemble. The considerable energy and personal commitment of each and every explains why the independent ensemble has been recognised as one of the most important players of contemporary music for more than three decades.

The ensemble rechercheis regularly invited to the most prestigious festivals in Europe, and has made guest appearances at, among others, the Salzburg Festival, the Lucerne Festival, the Elbe Philharmonic Hall, the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Venice Biennale, the Donaueschingen Music Festival, the Darmstadt International Summer Courses for New Music, and the Vienna Modern. International concert tours have taken the ensemble to, among other places, Israel, Japan, China, Russia, Mexico, the USA and South America. In Freiburg the ensemble introduces the public to new developments in contemporary music and exciting composer personalities during its own series of subscription concerts.

In collaboration with both young and established composers, the ensemble recherche generates new impetus and greatly influences the development of contemporary music. Students of composition at the music academies in, among other places, Helsinki, Copenhagen, Linz, Freiburg, Antwerp, Reykjavik and Cambridge profit from the ensemble musicians’ many years of experience within the framework of the ensemble’s long-standing ‘Class Work’ project, in particular. The ensemble’s personal links to important composers of the 20thcentury (particularly with Helmut Lachenmann, Wolfgang Rihm, Salvatore Sciarrino, Gérard Grisey, Hans Abrahamsen and Hans Werner Henze) make its musicians experts in ‘historical performance practice’ in the contemporary music of the last century.

The ensemble invests in the future and wants to pass on its spirit of research to the next generation in numerous teaching activities, such as school workshops, children’s concerts, participative youth projects, and master classes. The ensemble recherchethus advocates a culture of sensitive listening, a productive handling of difference, and a joyful and relaxed approach to complexity.

The ensemble recherche, together with the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra, has been headquartered in the Ensemble House Freiburg since 2012. During recent years, the ensemble has gradually rejuvenated itself with younger musicians and new management – ideal prerequisites for continuing to write musical history in future…

The ensemble recherchewon the City of Freiburg Reinhold Schneider Prize in 2018.

The ensemble recherche is sponsored by the City of Freiburg and the state of Baden-Württemberg.


(Translation: Richard Dennis)

ensemble recherche

Seit 1985 widmen sich die Mitglieder des ensemble recherche dem Neuen und Unbekannten. Über den Zeitraum von mehr als drei Jahrzehnten, mit über 600 Uraufführungen und rund 50 CD-Einspielungen, hat das Freiburger Ensemble musikalische Gegenwart gestaltet und Musikgeschichte geschrieben. Die acht Musikerinnen und Musiker – allesamt international konzertierende Solisten im Bereich der Neuen Musik – verbindet die große Lust am Experimentieren und die Begeisterung für die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Gegenwart. Die acht Solistinnen und Solisten stellen ihre enorme Musikalität und ihre individuellen Persönlichkeiten in den Dienst des Kollektivs, um gemeinsam, als Ensemble, an der musikalischen Gegenwart zu forschen. Dem hohen Elan und dem persönlichen Einsatz jedes und jeder Einzelnen ist es zu verdanken, dass sich das freie Ensemble in über drei Jahrzehnten zu einem der wichtigsten Akteure der Neuen Musik etabliert hat.

Das ensemble recherche wird regelmäßig zu den renommiertesten Festivals Europas eingeladen und gastierte u. a. bei den Salzburger Festspielen, dem Lucerne Festival, in der Elbphilharmonie, im Concertgebouw Amsterdam, bei der Biennale Venedig, den Donau-eschinger Musiktagen, den Darmstädter Ferienkurse und Wien Modern. Internationale Konzerttourneen führten u. a. nach Israel, Japan, China, Russland, Mexiko, in die USA und nach Südamerika. In Freiburg bringt das Ensemble in seiner eigenen Abokonzertreihe dem Publikum neue Entwicklungen der zeitgenössischen Musik und spannende Komponist*innen-Persönlichkeiten nah.

In Kollaboration mit jungen wie etablierten Komponist*innen setzt das ensemble recherche Impulse und beeinflusst maßgeblich die Entwicklung der gegenwärtigen Musik. Besonders im Rahmen des langjährigen Projekts „Klassen Arbeit“ konnten Kompositionsstudierende, u. a. der Musikhochschulen Helsinki, Kopenhagen, Linz, Freiburg, Antwerpen, Reykjavik und Cambridge, von den langjährigen Erfahrungen der Musiker*innen profitieren.  Die persönliche Verbindung mit wichtigen Komponist*innen des 20. Jahrhunderts, besonders mit Helmut Lachenmann, Wolfgang Rihm, Salvatore Sciarrino, Gérard Grisey, Hans Abrahamsen und Hans Werner Henze, macht das Ensemble heute zum Experten für „historische Aufführungspraxis“ in der Neuen Musik des ausgehenden 20. Jahrhunderts.

In zahlreichen Education-Aktivitäten, wie Schul-Workshops, Kinderkonzerten, partizipativen Jugendprojekten und Meisterkursen, investiert das Ensemble in die Zukunft und möchte den Forschergeist an die nächste Generation weitergeben. Das ensemble recherche setzt sich in dieser Form für eine Kultur des sensiblen Zuhörens, des produktiven Umgangs mit Differenzen und der lustvollen und angstfreien Auseinandersetzung mit Komplexität ein.

Seit 2012 ist das ensemble recherche gemeinsam mit dem Freiburger Barockorchester im Ensemblehaus Freiburg beheimatet. In den letzten Jahren hat sich das Ensemble durch drei neue Musiker und ein neues Management sukzessive verjüngt – optimale Voraussetzungen also, um auch in Zukunft Musikgeschichte zu schreiben…

 

Das ensemble recherche wird von der Stadt Freiburg und dem Land Baden-Württemberg gefördert.